Sneak Peek: Rayqual Leica M Mount Adapter

Fuji X-Pro1_015

When I first purchased my Fuji X-Pro1, I knew immediately I was going to have to find a Leica M Mount Adapter. While the reviews for the Fuji X lenses have been mostly positive (especially in the case of the 35mm F1.4), none of the initial lens offerings really suited my shooting style.

After having perused a few other options, I finally chose the Japanese Rayqual brand. I am the type who prefers a good track record and I don’t mind paying extra for that peace of mind. Kipon makes an adapter that is very low in price; but there seems to be some sample variation in quality. There are also adapters made by Novoflex (very expensive) and Fuji (which includes a function button); however both those were not available at the time of my purchase.

So, here’s the down and dirty stuff:

Build – Excellent, feels solid and sturdy yet light.

Usage – No play when mounting/dismounting lenses. The lens release switch works well. No noticeable effects or flares on the images. The lenses seem to operate as they should without any problems.

Value – Although priced at the higher end of most of the adapters available (still cheaper than the Novoflex and Fuji adapters), I feel the overall quality is worth the extra money.

Fuji X-Pro1_013

I am currently using the Voigtlander Heliar 15mm F4.5 M mount (pictured above) and Voigtlander Nokton 50mm F1.5 LTM mount (via M mount adapter) lenses with this adapter. Both lenses are performing incredibly well and I really couldn’t be happier with this set up.

UPDATE: Just received the new Voigtlander Ultron 21mm F1.8 M mount lens! Just a few test shots taken so far, but wow! So far it’s pretty awesome! More to come…

