Fujinon 35mm F1.4: First Impressions

Fujinon 35mm_009

At this point in time, Fuji has only released 3 prime lenses for the X-mount system: 18mm F2.0, 35mm F1.4 and the 60mm F2.4 Macro.

When I picked up my X-Pro, I chose only the 35mm. The 18mm isn’t wide enough for me; and I don’t do enough macro work (right now) to warrant buying the 60mm.

While the pics in the slideshow above are certainly not gallery quality, I have to say I was quite impressed with the results. The lens performed amazingly well.

The lens has excellent sharpness across the frame even wide open, the focus is pretty fast and sure, and the bokeh is exceptional. The build quality is nice and very light. The price is right too – just about $600 CAD.

Photos above: quick snaps taken around the house and in the city.

In the end, I still returned it. For a “normal” field of view I prefer to shoot around 70mm (full frame equivalent). With this 35mm lens, it gives the equivalent of a 52mm FOV on the Fuji X-Pro1 with its 1.5x crop factor. At least having spent time with the 35mm afforded me the chance to make sure all was working with the camera body.

Having said that, if the 35mm lens suits your shooting style, you will probably love it as much as everyone else! I have to admit, it was tempting to keep it because of how great it performed.

So you may ask, what the heck lens am I shooting with? Well, while I was trying out the 35mm, I ordered a Leica M mount to Fuji X mount adapter. Now I shoot with a Voigtlander 15mm F4.5 V2 and the Voigtlander 50mm F1.5 lenses. I am shooting manual all the way, baby! I love them both – but that’s a story for another time!

